The South African Senior Student Affairs Professionals


About us:

A resolution to form an association for student affairs was taken at a  Dean’s Forum workshop, held under the auspices of CHET in Port Elizabeth in August 2000. SAASSAP was formed to respresent senior student affairs professionals representing all universities and technikons in South Africa, and held its first Annual Confernce in 2001 in Durban, Kwazulu-Natal. Since then SAASSAP has grown and established itself as an important voice and stakeholder within the Higher Education sector.


To be a vibrant, context driven and world renowned, professional association for Student Affairs.


To provide strategic leadership amongst Student Affairs Professionals, build capacity and share knowledge for the benefit of students in accordance with national imperatives and global trends.

Office bearers:

Dr Llewellyn LM MacMaster

Stellenbosch University (SUN),

Deputy President:


General Secretary/Treasurer:

Mr B Rudi Buys

University of the Free State (UFS),

Members of the National Executive Committee (NEC):

Dr Segopane Seroka, Vaal University of Technology (VUT),

Dr Vivian de Klerk, Rhodes University (RU),

Dr Birgit Schreiber, University of the Western Cape (UWC),

Rev Simon Nedohe, University of Venda (Univen),

Mr S.A.T.(Thami) Mchunu, Mangosuthu University of Technology (MUT),